Gault Becomes Repeat Winner at Motordrome

Jun 28 2014 Todd Melfi Uncategorized Comments Off


 (Smithton, PA)  – On “double points night” at Motordrome Speedway, Friday, June 27, 2014, Ohio’s Glenn Gault, Jr. won for the second time this year in the NASCAR Late Model division.  Other winners in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series were Matt Smith (Modifieds), A.J. Poljak (Street Stocks), Anthony Aiello (Chargers), and Mark Tringes, Jr. (Subway Super Compacts).  Round two of “Street Drags” was won by Trevor Hill, driving his Turbo Porsche, to defeat retired dirt track racing legend Ron Piveson in the final round.

Steve Black started on the pole position for the 40-lap NASCAR Late Model feature event, seeking his first win of the season.  Bobby Henry grabbed the lead on lap one, after starting on the outside of the first row.  Third place starter Glenn Gault, Jr. passed Henry to lead lap two, remaining in the lead when a caution flag slowed the action on lap five. Black, a former Truck Division Champ, hit the wall hard in turn three, as a result of a mechanical failure.  When racing resumed, Gault pulled away from Henry, as the previous week’s winner Matt Sever advanced.  On lap ten, Sever claimed the second position from Henry, and with defending Champ Wiltrout closing in on the lead trio, the top four drivers in the running order were all four of the year’s feature winners.  Gault, a winner with three different touring series in his career, turned in one of the most dominant performances of the year, winning for the second time at Motordrome in 2014.   When the checkered flag waved, Sever placed a distant second, with three-time winner Wiltrout earning a podium finish.  His teammate Henry, twice a winner, finished fourth and veteran John Komarinski placed fifth.   Gault also won the heat race aboard the Tabone’s Snow King Roof Systems/Lennox Heating and Cooling Chevrolet.

“This car (setup) is right where we need to be.  It was fun to drive, and might be the best car we’ve ever had here,” Gault said with a smile.  “We won’t make any changes to it for next week, but the problem is that the track can change, so we will see where we stack up with the same setup next Friday.”

Six-time Modified Champion Adam Kostelnik led the first two laps of the 25-lap Modified feature, after starting in second position.  Defending Champion Matt Smith then moved into the top spot.  A thrilling three-car battle for second place raged on for several laps, with Kostelnik, three-time winner Dustin Blank, and Joey School.  Racing inches apart finally resulted in a frightening crash, that caused heat race winner Blank to flip his car over, on the backstretch, after he tangled with 2014 feature winner School.  Former Champ Bryan Shipp was also collected in the melee, but all drivers walked away.  Turning around his hard-luck season, Smith, steered the “Nuclear Banana” to his first victory of the year, after leading in the win column and point standings all of 2013.  Kostelnik placed second, with 2014 winner Greg Staggers finishing third.  Heat winner “Racin’ Jason” Busch and veteran Vince Kaider completed the top five.

The 25-lap Street Stock feature began with veteran Scott Aiello leading the first nine circuits.  Aiello, with a new race car this season, struggled with handling problems so far this season, but made significant changes to the car that proved beneficial.  However, on lap ten, defending Champion A.J. Poljak made the winning pass, and went on to keep his undefeated season in tact.  He also won the heat race, but admitted in victory lane that he doesn’t believe a “perfect” season is possible.  Citing Aiello’s improvement, and the arrival of Zane Ferrell, who made his second start of the year, Poljak doesn’t expect to finish the year without a loss.  When the checkered flag waved the top five positions were held by:  Poljak, Aiello, Ferrell, Andrew Kostelnik, and Ryan Escott.

Ron Eiford, III started in third place, but led the very first lap of the Charger division’s 15-lap feature.  He maintained the lead until lap five, looking to end a lenghty victory drought.  Points leader Anthony Aiello started in sixth place, and roared from third to first in one move, passing Eiford and 2014 winner Stephen Shelpman.  Aiello has made it clear that a Charger Championship is his focus this season.  Following Aiello to the finish line for his double points win, were Shelpman in second place, Eiford in third spot, Chad Gorring in fourth position, and Roger Bryan having a smooth fifth-place run.  Aiello and Shelpman won the heat races.

Seeking a first career feature win, popular Angie Kimberly led the first lap of the Subway Super Compacts’ 15-lap headliner.  Mark Tringes, Jr. took the lead on lap two, and drove away from all competitors to earn his third win of the year.  After a heated battle for second place, Kyle Komarinski earned the runner-up position over points leader Paul Koffler, Jr. who placed third.  Kimberly and Brian Noel finished fourth and fifth.  Championship combatants Koffler and Aaron Van Fleet won the heats, but Van Fleet crashed out of the feature event on lap three.


Next Friday, Motordrome Speedway kicks off the holiday weekend with a giant fireworks display after the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series five division racing!  The Charger division will compete in their biggest race of the season, as part of the July 4th agenda.  Race time is 7:30pm.