Gault Takes Third Victory at Motordrome; Poljack Still Undefeated

Jul 19 2014 Todd Melfi Uncategorized Comments Off

For Immediate Release                                                                                                                                     

Gault Takes Third Trophy At Motordrome; Poljak Still Undefeated 

(Smithton, PA) – Glenn Gault, Jr., of Hubbard, Ohio tied defending Champ Garry Wiltrout atop the 2014 victories list, by winning his third NASCAR Late Model feature on Friday, July 18, 2014. In the biggest Street Stock race of the year, A.J. Poljak made a stunning move in traffic to remain unbeaten this season.  Dustin Blank (Modifieds), Aaron Minjock (Chargers), and Kyle Komarinski (Subway Super Compacts) also visited victory lane in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series.

Former Pro Stock Champ John Komarinski and defending Motordrome Champion Garry Wiltrout led the 40-lap NASCAR Late Model feature to the green flag.  But by the time the field reached the scoring line, Glenn Gault, Jr. was officially the leader of the first lap.  Gault started in third position, and roared past the front row starters, less than a half mile into the contest.  Gault, a winner in national touring series action over the years, launched his career at Motordrome driving in the Legacy Car division, while his father was winning Late Model events and Championships.  With former NASCAR Regional Champ Gault, Sr. as a crew member, spotter, and mentor, Gault, Jr. built a lead of several car-lengths ahead of teammates Wiltrout and Bobby Henry.  Henry is a two-time winner in 2014 and former Champ, and he started in fifth position.  In the middle stages of the race, two-time winner Matt Sever began to reel in Henry, but a serious challenge for third position never developed, as Sever remained in fourth place.  Gault, a multi-feature winner at Motordrome in 2013 and former Lake Erie Speedway Champion dominated the race to win by more than a straightaway, claiming his third win of 2014.  Wiltrout, the only other driver with three Late Model wins, finished second with points leader Henry finishing in third place.  Sever earned fourth place, ahead of the previous week’s winner Mark Poole in fifth place.  Bobby Henry won the heat race, after a violent practice crash eliminated West Virginia’s Dave Wiltse from competition, and forced Steve Black to return to his nearby race shop to enter a backup car.  Both were uninjured.

“We made the car worse since our last visit, and we needed all the practice laps and the heat race to get it back to the way it performed when we were here the last time,” Gault said, standing beside his Snow King Roof Systems/Lennox Heating and Cooling Chevrolet.   “We enjoy coming (from Ohio) to race at this great track.”

Another exciting 25-lap Modified feature event started with 2014 winner Greg Staggers leading the first circuit.  On lap two, 2010 Mod Champ Chris Brink grabbed the top spot.  Lou Botti spent five laps in second place, before sixth place starter Dustin Blank became the runner up on lap seven.  Brink’s car was handling superb in the outside lane, while Blank spend several laps challenging him on the inside.  Occasionally switching grooves, but always racing very close without contact, the lead duo entertained fans with a wheel-to-wheel battle for several laps.  On the 17th go-round, Blank took the lead and remained in front until the checkered flag to win for the second consecutive week, after also winning his heat race.  Brink finished second and points leader Bryan Shipp, who started seventh, advanced to a third place finish.  Harry Opfer, in his second start ending a five year hiatus, placed fourth after winning a heat race, and “Big Daddy” Lou Botti finished fifth.

The biggest Street Stock event of the season, a 30-lap feature, began with the Aiello family occupying row one when the green flag waved.  Former Street Stock and Modified Champion Adam Kostelnik took the lead with young Anthony Aiello in second place ahead of his father Scott Aiello.  Kostelnik started in third place, and while leading on lap three, his teammate A.J. Poljak moved into second place.  Poljak started in sixth position, and as points leader, Poljak had won every feature race of 2014 in the division.  With a “Bounty” on Poljak (a cash bonus for any driver who can defeat him), he raced in second place, with front end damage sustained in the heat race, closely pursuing Kostelnik.  On lap 23, fans leaped from their seats, as lapped cars dueling side-by-side in front of the leaders caused a scramble for racing lanes on the backstretch.  Leader Kostelnik slowed just a bit approaching the traffic, and Poljak made an amazing three-wide pass at full speed, finding just enough space to thread his Yuengling Lager/AK Chassis/Chevy through the slower cars and around Kostelnik.  Poljak maintained a slim lead over Kostelnik for the final six laps, and at the finish line, Poljak won by less than a full car-length.  The defending Champion remains “perfect” on the season, as Kostelnik, Anthony Aiello, Zane Ferrell, and Scott Aiello completed the top five.  Poljak also won the heat race, in spite of making contact with a spinning car.

Two-time winner Stephen Shelpman took the lead at the start of the 15-lap Charger feature.  On lap four, his teammate Aaron Minjock passed him for the lead, and one lap later, Shelpman hit the outside wall on the front straight.  After the restart, it was all Minjock, as he ran away from the field.  Minjock has multiple wins at multiple tracks this season, as a former Motordrome winner in both Super Compact and Street Stock divisions as well.  Ron Eiford, III placed second ahead of previous week’s winner Chad Gorring, who earned third place.  Points leader Anthony Aiello finished fourth with Joe Geary placing fifth.  Gorring and Jon Scott won the preliminares.

Three different drivers led the 15-lap Subway Super Compact feature event, which was filled with position battles.  After starting on the pole, three-time winner Mark Tringes, Jr. led for four circuits.  Then, seeking a first-career win, Angie Kimberly led the fifth lap.  On lap six, Kyle Komarinski made the winning pass, as he remained in first place to take the checkered flag.  Komarinski, a multiple feature winner in 2013, earned his first win of the year with close friend, and most recent winner, Aaron Van Fleet finishing in second place.  Points leader Paul Koffler, Jr. was third with Tringes fourth and Kimberly finishing fifth.  Komarinski and rookie Bentley Miller won the heat races.

Next Friday, July 25th will be Speeding to a Cure Night presented by Y108 at Motordrome Speedway.  A portion of all online ticket sales will go towards the St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital.  All five NASCAR Divisions will be in action.