Henry Extends Point Standings Lead with Motordrome Win

Aug 17 2014 Todd Melfi Uncategorized Comments Off

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                                                             August 15, 2014

Henry Extends Point Standings Lead with Motordrome Win

(Smithton, PA) - For the third time in 2014, former Motordrome Speedway Track Champion Bobby Henry, of Connellsville, PA celebrated in victory lane after the 40-lap NASCAR Late Model feature.  Other winners on Friday, August 15, in the NASCAR Whelen All American Series were Dustin Blank (Modifieds), A.J. Poljak (Street Stocks), Jon Scott (Chargers), and Aaron Van Fleet (Subway Super Compacts).

Former Truck division Champ Steve Black and 2014 feature winner Mark Poole won heat races for the NASCAR Late Model division, and when the green flag waved for the 40-lap feature, Bobby Henry took the lead from the pole starting position.  Henry, a two-time Champion of Motordrome in the dirt track era, scored two wins early in the season, including the 100-lap Summer Sizzler.  Poole, a winner in only a handful of starts during 2014, moved around the previous week’s winner, Matt Sever to claim second place early on.  Poole caught Henry and raced right in his tire tracks for several laps, until lap 23, when Poole made a pass for the lead.  Poole pulled away from Henry, maintaining a huge lead interval.  Poole’s win weeks ago, was a dominant one, as his nearest competitor was a straightaway behind.  Henry, the 2007 NASCAR Late Model Champ, was a distant second to Poole when a caution flag was displayed on lap 37.  With double-file restarts, Henry was alongside Poole when racing resumed with three laps to go.  Henry leaped back into the lead when the green flag waved.  Although Poole was significantly stronger during the long run of full speed laps, Henry pulled away by a few car-lengths, and earned his third win of the season, after it appeared Poole was set to earn his second victory, prior to the yellow flag period.  Poole finished second and Sever, who was crowned inaugural Champ of the “Keystone Cup” mini-series (a joint effort between Jennerstown Speedway and Motordrome) was the third place finisher.  Gregrory Kelley, a two-time Truck division Champion, made his first start of the year, and earned fourth place after a spin.  Black placed fifth.

“I didn’t want to see a caution flag, because I knew Sever was behind me,” Henry admitted in victory lane, expecting Poole to run away with the lead again in the final laps.  “I sure wasn’t trying to scrub heat into the tires under the caution, but I didn’t realize that we would be THAT much better on cooler tires,” Henry explained while standing next to the Stone and Company/PAI/Franjo Construction/Meegan Ford.

Another thrilling Modified feature event began with veteran “Racin’ Jason” Busch in the lead.  Seeking a second career win, Busch was in front for the first three laps.  Matt Smith, the most recent winner and defending Champion became the leader on lap four.  On lap six, Greg Staggers took second position, and two laps later points leader Dustin Blank became the runner up.   A restart on lap 13, halted the dramatic lead battle between Blank and Smith, and on lap 15 Blank took the lead.  Blank has won more than any other driver in the division, during his 20th season as a race car driver.  Smith placed second with former Champion Bryan Smith gaining ground late, to place third.  Chris Brink, another former Champ, placed fourth.  Staggers placed fifth.  In addition to having a memorable lead battle in the feature, Blank and Smith also won the heats.

The 25-lap Street Stock feature began with veteran Scott Aiello taking the lead, after starting in third place.  Aiello has won heat races in 2014, but with A.J.Poljak’s stranglehold on victory lane this season, all other drivers are seeking a first win.  Defending Champion Poljak passed Aiello for the lead on lap five, and set sail for another win after starting sixth.  Working on “perfect season,” Poljak remains undefeated in 2014.  Poljak’s good friend Aiello, and former Charger Champ Zane Ferrell placed in the podium positions.   Greg Praysnor, making his second start of the year, made a late race charge into fourth position and second year driver Ryan Escott, placed fifth. Poljak also won the heat race.

Doing double-duty in 2014, Jon Scott competes in both the Modifieds as a rookie, and in the Chargers.  He was a Charger winner for the first time in 2013, and he dominated the 15-lap feature for his first Motordrome win of the year.  Scott started outside of row one, and roared by “Mad Mike” George for the lead on lap one, and was in first place the entire duration.  At the finish line, Scott had to hold off points leader Anthony Aiello.  Aiello, the leading winner of the year, made late race attempts to pass Scott but finished second.  Joe Geary challenged for the lead early on, and placed third.  Ron Eiford, III started seventh and finished fourth, with Chad Gorring earning another top five honor.  Aiello and Eiford won the heats.

The top two drivers in the Championship standings of the Subway Super Compacts dueled for the win in the 15-lap feature.  Angie Kimberly led lap one, before Aaron Van Fleet took the top spot.  Van Fleet, the leading winner in the division sits second in the standings.  After a restart with just two laps to go, Van Fleet defended his lead against his title nemesis Paul Koffler, Jr.  Koffler, a former dirt track Champ, placed second after winning his heat to maintain his advantage in the chase for championship.  Van Fleet won for the sixth time, with Koffler close at the finish.  Kyle Komarinski, hit the outside wall while challenging Van Fleet for the lead mid-race, and still finished third.  Rookie Chris Richter finished fourth and Brian Noel earned fifth place.  Mark Tringes, Jr. won the other heat race.

Next Friday, UPMC Night At The Races, offers fans half price admission!   Gate open at 6:00 pm and race time is 7:30pm for five division racing in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series, with 50% off general admission AND reserved seat tickets.  Plus, the first 1,500 fans receive a special gift from UPMC Health Plan.