Trupar 100 is Biggest Win for Sever

Aug 09 2014 Todd Melfi Uncategorized Comments Off

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                August 8, 2014 


Motordrome’s TRUPAR 100 is Biggest Win for Sever 

(Smithton, PA) – The annual TRUPAR 100 is the crown-jewel event of the summer for the NASCAR Late Models at Motordrome Speedway.  On Friday, August 8, local favorite Matt Sever defeated a field of champion drivers from four states, to earn the biggest paycheck and most prestigious victory of his career.  Matt Smith (Modifieds), A.J. Poljak (Street Stocks), Aaron Minjock (Chargers), and Bentley Miller (Subway Super Compacts) were also victorious in the NASCAR Whelen All American Series.  The evening began with a live concert and fund raising activities, during the pre-race FANFEST presented by Windstax. 

First time Motordrome visitor, Zane Zeiner, set the fastest time in qualifying for the TRUPAR 100.  Zeiner, a NASCAR Modified competitor and former winner of the Late Model Race of Champions (in Oswego, NY) earned the Oakley Pole Award with a time of 17.767 seconds on the half mile oval.  By virtue of an inverted start, Zeiner took the green flag in tenth place.  The only female NASCAR Late Model winner in Motordrome history, Jayme Beck, started in first place and led the first two laps of the event.  Beck, a former Legacy Car Champion, lost the lead to former Pro Stock Champion John Komarinski on lap three.  Komarinski pulled away from the field, seeking his first win of the year, as Steve Black took second place from Beck.  On lap eight, Glenn Gault, Jr. advanced to the runner up spot, after starting in eighth place.  Gault won the regular distance feature one week prior, for his division-leading fifth victory.  Gault reeled in Komarinski, and on lap 14, Gault became the leader.  One lap later, Matt Sever passed Komarinski for second place.  Sever, of nearby West Newton, PA, had been to victory lane twice at Motordrome and twice at Jennerstown in 2014.  For 13 laps, Sever filled Gault’s rearview mirror.  Gault, a former Lake Erie Speedway Champ, won a special event at Motordrome in 2013, while Sever was earning the title of “Rookie of the Year.”  On lap 29, Sever passed Gault for the lead, and instantly opened up a three car-length advantage.  Bobby Henry, who won the season’s previous 100-lap race in June, was racing in the third position, several car-lengths behind his new rival Gault. Only two caution flags slowed the action (lap 17 and lap 40), offering Gault and Henry the opportunity to get close to Sever, but neither could challenge the youngest driver in the field in the first half of the race.  In the final quarter of the race, Gault steadily gained on leader Sever, and was within a car-length at times.  With all eyes on the lead duo, and Gault threatening to take the lead, slower cars in a battle for position loomed in front of Sever.  Like a seasoned veteran, Sever approached the lapped cars and threaded through them, building up another healthy lead interval in the process.  After the masterful work in traffic, former Motordrome Super Compact and Street Stock Champion, Sever, took the checkered flag and celebrated his first crown-jewel victory, in his second full season of Late Model racing.  Sever, Gault, current points leader and former Champ, Henry, finished in the podium positions.   Beck rallied from a pit stop to place fourth and Zeiner advanced to fifth place after several pit stops, with ailing brakes. 

“Even I didn’t think that would be the winning pass,” Sever declared, of his early race move around Gault.  “I knew when we approached the lapped cars, it would either be good for us, or bad for us… those are the only options.”  It turned out all good for Sever, as he stood next to his Martinelli’s Auto Service/Lux Brothers/EESI Chevy, celebrating with TRUPAR representatives.  “I watched these big races as a kid, and always dreamed of being a part one, and now here we are in victory lane.”    

The TRUPAR 100 was round one of the first “Keystone Cup” for Late Models, with round two at Jennerstown Speedway the following night, Saturday August 9. 

Recent winner Adam Kostelnik took the lead at the start of the 25-lap Modified feature, with “Racin’ Jason” Busch in second place.  Fifth place starter, Matt Smith, became the runner-up to Kostelnik on lap seven.  On lap eight, six time Champ Kostelnik slowed with a broken rear-end, handing the lead to defending Champion Smith.  On his birthday weekend, Smith held off points leader Dustin Blank for his third win of the season, after notable misfortunes early in the year.  Blank, the Mods’ leading winner in 2014, made the race exciting, falling just short at the finish line after repeated challenges.  Former Champion Bryan Shipp placed third behind Blank, with Harry Opfer finishing fourth after starting twelfth.  Busch placed fifth. 

The 25-lap Street Stock feature began with veteran Scott Aiello taking the lead, after starting in third place.  But on lap six, points leader and defending Champion A.J. Poljak took the lead.  Working on “perfect season,”  Poljak steered to another win, remaining undefeated in 2014.  Poljak’s good friend Aiello, former Charger Champ Zane Ferrell, second year driver Ryan Escott, and Victor Keller placed in the top five spots. 

Ron Eiford, Jr. led lap one of the Chargers’ 15-lap main event, before Joe Geary became the first place driver.  The former Pure Stock winner is looking for a first win in twelve years.  Geary led until lap 13, when he finally succumbed to pressure from Aaron Minjock.  Minjock started eighth, and battled for several laps with Geary, making contact and dueling side by side repeatedly.  Minjock earned his second straight win with Geary, points leader Anthony Aiello, Jon Scott, and Ron Eiford, III completing the top five in the rundown. 

For the second time this year, rookie Bentley Miller found victory lane in the Subway Super Compacts, leading all 15-laps to the checkered flag. He grabbed the lead from pole starter Brian Noel, and held off a late race charge by Kyle Komarinski.  Komarinski, a two-time winner like Miller, started in fifth placeand finished second, ahead of points leader Paul Koffler, Jr.  Previous week’s winner Aaron Van Fleet started sixth and finished fourth, with three-time winner Mark Tringes, Jr. placing fifth.     

This Friday, August 15th the points battles will continue to tighten as the Motordrome Speedway hosts “Back To School Night”, with all students with a valid student ID receive FREE admission.  All five NASCAR Divisions will be in action.  Gates open at 6 pm and racing starts at 7:30 pm.  Go to for more information.